Sign in to follow this  
The brew guy

Replacement front bead/sight for SKB505?

I'm new to shotguns and just got a SKB 505. It looks to be in nice shape (haven't had a chance to try it out yet) with the exception of a missing front sight. There's a "block" at the end of the rib with a hole in it (hole does not go all the way through) and I assume there should be something in the hole to make it visible. I don't know if this takes the infamous Ray-bar sight or a standard bead. Or maybe the whole block comes off to be replaced? I don't want to experiment and risk damaging something. Anybody here familiar with this part?

I'm new to shotguns and just got a SKB 505. It looks to be in nice shape (haven't had a chance to try it out yet) with the exception of a missing front sight. There's a "block" at the end of the rib with a hole in it (hole does not go all the way through) and I assume there should be something in the hole to make it visible. I don't know if this takes the infamous Ray-bar sight or a standard bead. Or maybe the whole block comes off to be replaced? I don't want to experiment and risk damaging something. Anybody here familiar with this part?

Infamous Ray-bar?  I've got one, and I like it...What makes them infamous?

FWIH, some love 'em, some hate 'em, Ive seen more hate than love and there doesn't seem to be much middle ground. Maybe "controversial" would be more accurate.

If it helps, mine seems to be a skeet model (says "skeet" on the trigger guard) and has a mid bead.

Any thoughts on what I'd need to order?

Target models typically had a white Bradley bead from sight. The trend today is fiber optic. I have no issues with the old RayBar front sight, I've always liked them. 

http://www.njgunforums.com/forum/index.php/topic/78882-clueless-about-fiber-optic/?hl=raybar#entry1001351

Thread size for your shotgun should be 6-48: http://www.brownells.com/GunTech/Shotgun-Sight-Bead-Thread-List/detail.htm?lid=11183