Princetonian58

1911 Recommendations

Both are nice guns and both companies have good customer service (Ruger's is awesome actually).  They will both shoot very well.  

Personally I like the Ruger for the upgrades.  The mi-spec is cool but not my cup of tea.  If you were looking to learn to work on a 1911 and do some mods, it's an awesome starting point.  

Just know, 1911's are extremely addictive.  

C

I shoot a Springfield Armory Range Officer - one of 3 guns I use for IDPA - the Range Officer is the straightest shooter of the 3 (yeah, that could be me).

Colt has a new "competition" 1911 out this year, pretty gun, I have no experience with it (yet).

Can't go wrong with the Springfield or Ruger.  I also hear good things about Rock Island 1911's.  I personally have a Springfield and a Para Ordnance, and I will be picking up a Metro Ordnance American Classic trophy at the end of the month.  https://americanclassic.eagleimportsinc.com/americanclassic/firearms/trophy-series

The problem with cheaper 1911s is the use of MIM parts. They break much more easily. Most reputable companies will repair and replace broken parts but it also means your gun is out of commission for a period of time.

I'd spend a little more and go with a slightly higher model of a springer.

Sent from my ONE A2005 using Tapatalk

I have the range officer and a couple rock islands. All great, but I like the rocks better.

Damn wish I knew you had a few, I'm strongly considering a rock for my next purchase. I'm having a hard time deciding between 22tcm/9 and 45

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

How about Kimber?? whats your thoughts them guys

Pass. They make a decent gun for the money but have huge quality control issues and a high failure rate. I would never spend my money on one. Ymmv

• Like 1

How about Kimber?? whats your thoughts them guys