Ricky_Bobby

Where's all My Cross Dominant People at?

I figured I'd ask if there are other CD people on this board like me out there because as I practice shooting over time I will say it does get better, when I first discovered I was cross dominant (left handed shooter with right dominant eye) and a southpaw it was like worst of both worlds LOL - I started shooting in my mid 20's and even though I practice holding my firearms righty and bringing up to shoulder, etc, to "switch it up" and keep both sides of my body fluid, its still not as natural feeling as holding with my dominant arm.

However, I'm learning to shoot better with both eyes open, especially long guns as those are the worst for cross dominance - and I've been practicing with my handguns as well and it does feel more natural to not close one eye - when I first started shooting I'd cock my head over and close my left eye - I may be a bit less accurate currently with both eyes open but its getting easier to ignore the left eye or at least let it naturally bring my focus into view- pretty sure soon enough I'll be just as accurate as when I focused on my targets when I closed my non-dominant eye.

So if anyone like me out there, what do you do to accomodate your cross dominance and how do you deal with it handgun vs. long gun shooting, etc.  Higher visibility front sights also help in my case.

When I was younger, I noticed myself rolling my head over a rifle/shotgun, using my left eye. Maybe I caught it young enough, because I started closing my left eye, and after some time with getting used to it, the right eye started picking up. Currently, if I draw with both eyes open, the right lines up behind the sights.

Hearing people talk about it always left me scratching my head, because it wasn't a hard thing to adapt to.