Newtonian

SA vs. DA/SA handguns

I watched the video this morning (they have pretty good videos on their channel). He does make the case that you need more training to make sure you are comfortable with the DA/SA triggers and also get used to always decocking. Some people are going to get them because they are "safer" but not get the training. In the stress of an encounter I still believe the less you have to do the better. One could make the case that a revolver fits the bill with less things to learn and do under stress.

I get 404 on the link.

That said, I like having the round chambered but no loaded hammer or striker behind it.     You have to want to shoot if you have an 11+lb trigger.    Less accurate?  Yeah, probably.  So it goes.   

I agree that SA/DA pistols are safer. The points made in the video are valid. I have been carrying them for over 40 years. There is no loss of accuracy if you teach yourself to let the trigger reset between the first DA and second SA shot. I don't buy one less thing to do is better. If you're a 1911 fan you train to put the safety on when you're finished. If you train to decock when you're finished shooting you will do the same thing on the street.

One of the problems with new shooters is they want instant success. They don't want to practice and don't want to develop the muscles needed to deal with a 10-12 pound DA pull. People who suggest the first thing you do when you get a revolver is get an action job really aren't doing you any favors. Those complaining about the "long, hard DA pull" should maybe take up croquet instead of shooting. Going to a 5 lb "action job" and using reloads with soft primers are okay for a range toy but don't think that makes you a great real life combat shooter.

I'm not against striker fired pistols. I also carry a Glock at times. The agency I retired from required the NY1 (8 lb) trigger. I've been retired over 10 years now and that's what still is in the gun.