Vicious

How to hold a pistol?

Now I'm no expert, but I do have formal training, and this never came up.

I was shooting with a coworker at a unnamed indoor Jersey range, and the RSO was watching us because we were the only ones in there. 

He comes up to us and tells me that I am holding the gun wrong. I wasn't having any trouble, or grouping bad, or anything negative for that matter. He insisted, however, that I had my strong hand on the pistol in an improper manner.

Basically, he was telling me that where the tang of the gun was contacting my hand, it was hitting a nerve and it was going to cause me fatigue. I was at the 300+ round mark, and I hadn't noticed it... in fact, I ALWAYS hold my pistols the way I was holding it, and I NEVER noticed that issue.

Anyway, trying not to be rude, I adjusted my hold, and I noticed that not only did it feel unnatural, but I had to consciously focus on turning my hand to keep the sights centered, and my hands would get shaky when pulling the trigger. He insisted it was better. 

My question is, is there any fact behind what he was saying? Is there some pressure point in your hand that you can hit while shooting that will fatigue your arm?

Or is this dude just messing with me?

Sure there are wrong ways to hold a gun. Maybe "wrong" isn't quite right, but there are different techniques and grip styles you can utilize based on any issues you are having or what you are trying to improve in your shooting. I don't know about pressure points and all that though....

Even if you aren't having issues per-se, a slight change in your grip could help you shoot faster, or control recoil better than you were before resulting in a tighter shot group, or possibly faster split times.

However, not enough info to go on here. What kind of gun? How were you holding it? What changes were suggested? Etc... Photos would likely be helpful.