wadezky

Gunbroker.com worth it??

Hey all, newbie here....been looking at Gunbroker.com for a couple things I want but I wanted the opinion of some of you that know way more than I do....is it even worth it? After paying for shipping and then an FFL, it seems kind of pointless. Again, I'm no expert but I know what I want (S&W 686), but haven't seen any pricing that's any better than what I can buy from walking into a store. Has anyone got a great deal or anything? I'd like to know if it's worth it to even keep checking. Thanks in advance.

Gunbroker is a useful tool to locate and get firearms that are in limited supply.  My FFL charges a reasonable transfer fee and is not the least concerned about it when he cannot locate or deals with what I wish to purchase.  Of course the law of supply and demand dictate price so hot items will always command a premium.  But, if price is not the primary concern, then Gunbroker fills a specific need.  It also allows you access to a much larger used marketplace connecting buyer with seller. A much cheaper option than visiting store after store looking for that needle in a haystack.

I'm all for supporting the local guy, I'm still in my "30 days til my next gun limbo", but wanted to start looking and pricing now so that I can just get it when the clock is reset.

I didn't think I saw any listed on here, but being new to the site I could have totally missed it.

I realize I'm not going to get one for $200 or some outrageously low price from that website, but I figure any money I can save is better than nothing. Hopefully someone on this site has one.

TBill, price isn't a real big concern and I honestly haven't even walked into any of my local stores to check inventory. It's one of those things where I know exactly what I want so I went on there to see pricing. The cash isn't an issue, rather spend it on a good gun than a crap one, but any money I can save will pay for ammo.

Sounds like you answered your own question.