Mrs. Peel

Florida Father Accidentally Kills Son at Range...

Link: http://www.cnn.com/2016/07/04/us/florida-father-shoots-son/index.html

My 2 cents (3 thoughts) on this:

1) The heartbreak for that dad and entire family... I cannot even fathom. Just awful. Dark days ahead for them.

2) Horrific as it is... as a beginner, I guess any of these stories should also stand as stark (though horrific) safety lessons as well. So, what was done wrong here? Finger on the trigger, right? Not pointed downrange? And maybe shirt with a loose collar factored in as well? Am I missing anything obvious?

3) Note the coverage - it's the lead story AND they have it juxtaposed alongside OTHER tragic gun stories (even resurrecting the girl who killed her instructor with an uzi many, many months ago). If I was a betting woman, I'd say expect to see this story prominently positioned and covered extensively for at least a week. (Meanwhile, not a peep about any deaths in Chicago, Baltimore, etc., etc.) Such manipulation. The press really shames itself these days.

• Like 1

This infuriates me.

What was done wrong here?

This is a software problem - a complete fail in this father's mindset. Hot brass down your shirt does not mean you can jump around like a fool and point your gun at people. The minor pain of being burned by hot brass does not mean you can temporarily set aside basic firearms safety rules.