Bully

Anyone Wanna School a Newbie...

...On how to hold a single action?

I'm getting close to closing a deal on a SA revolver and am wondering how to hold the pistol to make it a pleasant experience. I want to take advantage of the "roll" that SA shooters talk about to help absorb recoil. I would also like to learn to shoot it both single hand and double hand.

Caliber is 44Mag. 7.5" barrel. I will be shooting full house loads thru it.

I'm no expert in shooting SA revolvers but I can tell you what works for me. One of the things you need to do to shoot good groups is have consistency in your grip. The only way I found to do this is by curling your little finger under the bottom of the grip. Think about it, if you let the gun "roll" in your hand you will be constantly readjusting your grip. If you keep your little finger under the bottom of the grip, you will maintain your grip after recoil or after cock in when shooting one handed.

Shooting with two hands is the same but use your support hand to do all the cocking. Helps to maintain your grip.

Don't depend on the "roll" to absorb recoil. Let your arms absorb recoil.

This works for me. Someone who does a lot of Cowboy Action might have better advice.

The loads that cowboy action shooters use are very low powered with no recoil.  The 44mag in a single action will recoil strongly with 44 magnum loads.  I have two Ruger SBH in 44 magnum and they are a handful compared to the 38/357.  45LC is really easy to shoot compared to the 44 mag.

The loads that cowboy action shooters use are very low powered with no recoil.  The 44mag in a single action will recoil strongly with 44 magnum loads.  I have two Ruger SBH in 44 magnum and they are a handful compared to the 38/357.  45LC is really easy to shoot compared to the 44 mag.

44 special however is a total joy to shoot in a SBH

• Like 1

44 special however is a total joy to shoot in a SBH

^^^^^THIS^^^^