Shocker

Women’s shotgun?

My wife decided she likes sporting clays so I’d like to bring her along to Clinton WMA, etc….aka I need to buy another gun  

I have a M3000 Sporting and an 870 and she says they’re both too heavy and have too much recoil 

I understand a well fitted gun helps a lot but it doesn’t make it any lighter. So what is a shooter giving up by going to a “ladies model” or a 20ga? I would have thought a smaller shell/fewer pellets will make things harder, wouldn’t it? And a lighter gun will just pass more recoil to the shooter?

Naturally cost will always be a concern but I’d be curious what other folks have done with their diminutive shooter companions. 

Folks are great about loaners (not surprising, really…you’re a all good people) but I’m also trying to find out what you’re giving up with the lighter gun and lighter load. I mean…if it wasn’t a compromise everyone would shoot a light 20ga, wouldn’t they?

Hi! I'm a girl! 

I have an 870 Wingmaster I used to use to shoot clays. It was a bit heavy to swing all day, so I switched out the wood furniture for some synthetic. It made it a little easier to point and swing for a full day of clays but I soon bought a Beretta A400 Lite. It's light, and easy to carry and the Kickoff system helps mitigate recoil. It's just over 6 1/2 lbs. She's more than welcome to try mine. 

For new shooters in general, I'd suggest trying to find a 12ga that fits as you do make hitting clays more difficult when you change gauges. 

A lot of the newer semi autos have some sort of recoil system which might take just enough off of the kick to be manageable for her. 

Let me know when we're all meeting up at Clinton and I'll bring mine!

Best, 

Rhi

• Like 1
  • Agree 2

49 minutes ago, Shocker said: