Lawnmower2021

First-time buyer, is it bad to request multiple handgun permits?

Hello Everyone,

I am relatively new to NJ and have never owned a gun before. I see that there is a combined FID and handgun permit form STS-033 here: https://www.njsp.org/info/pdf/firearms/sts-033.pdf

I am contemplating getting two handguns in different calibers. Does it impact the process to request one vs. two from the start? In the future if I want to get another handgun, do I need to use the same form and supply references again?

Please forgive me if this is in the wrong spot; feel free to move or delete if necessary :)

Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day!

With the new online system you cannot request more than one permit at a time that would need to be used within the 90 day window, unless renewed?  

There is no limit on the number of pistol purchase permits you can apply for in one go. If you do not apply for an exemption, you cannot use more than 60 in the 180 days that they are valid.

There is no point in applying for just 1 permit. You have to pay for the background check to apply for 1 plus $2 for the permit. If you apply for 6 you pay the same fee for one background check and $12 for the permits.

That is what I thought, Stu.  I didn't think it changed with the new online process.   If they are still $2 I would suggest that you get at least (3) when you apply.  If you don't use it so what.  You may decide you want more than a couple or a good deal might come along, etc.  You may decide you want an additional 22LR handgun as well.  You are allowed one handgun in the Republik every 30 days, however, you can purchase a long gun at the same time as you buy the handgun to save on additional background checks.  And even though you have a permit, you still need to pay for instant background check (NICs) when purchasing.