NJdiverTony

Belt or Paddle Holster???

I'm shopping around for a holster for my Beretta 92A1, and not finding many choices. Since it has a rail on it, I think I need to get a holster that fits the Beretta Vertec. The only one I've found so far is made by Fobus (not sure if that's a good brand). This is my first time ever shopping for a pistol holster. Should I be looking for a paddle holster, or a belt holster? Which is better and why? I know nothing about pistol holsters, so I would appreciate some good input.

Thanks!

Having owned and used both for rants and IDPA, I like belt holsters. I can put it where I want it and not worry about it coming out or canting itself into an undesirable position. I have owned fobus holsters and will not buy another, they didn't fit the gun well (my 1911 has scratches from only a few uses).

I am a fan of leather holsters and would reccomend that you look at. www.littlebearholsters.com. They can tell you if they have the mold for the beretta with the rail, a quick phone call or email will tell you that.

If your not into leather blackhawk makes good holsters.

Tony.... being a lefty sometimes me choices are limited. I had a fobus kydex paddle holster for a CZP01 and used it during IDPA matches. Never had an issue... until that one time. Nothing cracks up a room of shooters more then watching a guy try to get the holster off his gun instead of taking on targets. Priceless.

Get a belt holster.

Like how? My Serpa is pretty darn comfy with the paddle attachment.

Depending on your body type, the paddle can dig-in when you sit, stoop, kneel or whatever. Just something to be aware of when choosing a holster.