Ray Ray

870 or 590A1

60 members have voted

1. 1. Which is better?

Mossberg 590AI for me for the sole reason that I own one and its a great shotgun. The 870 is pretty legendary but I have little experience w/ that shotty. It used to be that the Mossberg was alot cheaper then the 870 but now you can get the 870's for almost the same price.

So, what are the advantages and disadvantages of each system. ie Safety position, action, sights, ease of dissembly and use, aftermarket accesories, looks?

I'll start this

Safety, most will say the Mossberg is in a better position and it actually is. Although I really have no need for it.

Safety=Mossberg

Action, Remington by a landslide. It's almost too smooth. I like the Mossbergs action but compared to the 870 it lacks.

Action=Remington

Sights, Mossberg has ghost rings and the Remmy has a bead. Mossberg in a landslide. Not sure if sights are needed on a pump but it's on there none-the-less.

Sights=Mossberg

Ease of Dissembly and use, Remington has a winner there. You can have it apart quickly and change out the extension tube and barrel easily. The Mossberg takes a little bit longer for me, but it could be that I'm still learning.

Ease of Dissemly and use=Remington

Aftermarket accesories, TIE? Even though the 870 has been around forever and add-ons are never ending, the Mossberg has just as many. Whatever a company makes for one, they'll have something for the other.

Accesories= Tie

Looks, another TIE? Yeah, the 870 is gorgous and their wingmasters are perfect. But the 590A1 has a mean business look that is perfect. I like them both and it's up to you guys to decide.

Looks= Tie

So, it looks like it's a Tie. A tie? Well, the debate rages on.

So, what are the advantages and disadvantages of each system. ie Safety position, action, sights, ease of dissembly and use, aftermarket accesories, looks?

I'll start this