Barms

my first AR question.. 22LR vs 223/556

I've read lots but here is an opinion question... (no its not the dreaded.. "should i build or buy?" question.. :-)

being new to firearms i was kinda dumbfounded that the AR15 shoots essentially a 22 caliber bullet. (please lets not get technical about 223 being bigger than 22).

since i was a rookie i saw those HUGE cartridges of 2.23 and 556 and just figured it was a BIGGER bullet.. like a 45 or something like that. So when i was reading that a S&W 15-22 for like $500.. and the "other" AR's were over a thousand bucks for the longest time i just thought "well bigger bullet equals bigger platform = more money".. etc etc..

so then i find out the "bigger bullet" is really just still 22 caliber. So here is the question: Can someone tell me any other reason why they went 2.23 or 556 instead of 22LR? I know its natural that bigger = better.. but the bullet really isnt bigger! Yes, i know the STOPPING POWER is different. I read a great article where they showed 22L vs 2.23 the size of the hole it makes and the 2.23 went through a steel plate and the 22LR did not. I get it that the bullet is more powerful. I dunno, i guess i'm just having a hard time processing it. With handguns its black and white: 9mm is bigger and stronger than 22LR, 45 is bigger and stronger than 9mm. The caliber IS DIFFERENT.

But 2.23 is same size as 22LR, essentially.. Please don't cringe when you read that. So besides stopping power.. can some guys tell me why they went 223/556 over the 22LR? Is there something else about the rifles i don't know? Distance? Accuracy? Reliability?

From reading a lot on this forum when people ask "what kind of AR should i buy/build?" the answer is always "what are you going to use it for?" So here i'd like some of you AR lovers to tell me the differences between the 22LR and 223/556 (besides stopping power).

First, it's .223 as in .223" of bullet diameter. And 5.56 as in 5.56 mm - the metric equivalent of .223.