rdsmith3

Accuracy better at longer distance?!

I am relatively new to firearms. I have been shooting less than a year. Also, due to some personal events, I have not been to the range in a few months. (This is just a long-winded way of saying that I am not a great shooter.) The other day, I took my Walther PPQ 9mm to RTSP to practice. I was shooting at small 18"x12" targets at 5, 7, and 10 yards. It looks to me like I was more accurate at 7 yards than at 5, and maybe even more accurate at 10 than at 5. I did not shoot the same number of rounds at each target, and the targets are slightly different, so it is not an easy comparison.

I have noticed this before. It is a problem with the gun, or is it something I am doing wrong?

5 yards

i-kZb6pVw-L.jpg

7 yards

i-9sRbW6h-L.jpg

10 yards

i-8D2rCWM-L.jpg

Most likely you are simply concentrating more carefully at longer distances. Larry Vickers coined the phrase "aim small, miss small." At close distance the bullseye seems so large it is tempting to aim generally for all that red space rather than a specific point. Next time try to aim for a very specific point rather than the general bullseye area, and concentrate as hard as at longer distance.

Most likely you are simply concentrating more carefully at longer distances. Larry Vickers coined the phrase "aim small, miss small." At close distance the bullseye seems so large it is tempting to aim generally for all that red space rather than a specific point. Next time try to aim for a very specific point rather than the general bullseye area, and concentrate as hard as at longer distance.

+1

Sorry, they all look like basically the same group with some targets having more rounds shot at them and 7 and 10 yards having more flinching rather than just technique issues. I doubt it is the gun as there is no significant difference between 5, 7, and 10 yards that would make a mechanical issue become apparent, go away, and become apparent again.