Barms

does your other thumb touch the slide?

i've been to two classes.. and from all the videos i've watched of the pros.. for a right handed shooter their left thumb looks like it is touching the slide. I know that getting more left hand on the weapon helps with stability.. but i just cant find a comfortable grip with my left hand "way up" on that slide. And doesnt the thumb impede the action of the slide?

Part of me wants to just stay with what's comfortable.. but what i learned many moons ago when i started playing golf.. doing what's comfortable isn't always the best thing if you want to get really good at something.

the pros have their left hand/thumb way up there (as opposed to the way i just "cup" my left hang around my right hand). my laft hand actually doesnt even touch any part of the pistol.. its just "supporting" my right hand. i know its wrong.. i just cant stop doing it that way.

please elaborate "thumbs stacked" i'm picturing a dozen different things..

Index finger pointed at the threat? you're telling me your weak hand index finger is pointed DOWNRANGE? its not "cupping" your strong hand?

what do you think about this guy's weak hand?

I shot with a GM once and he told me just to ride the thumb along the slide for consistency.

As long as you're not pressing on it it won't affect your shot and it won't hurt your thumb.

I shoot a Beretta 92 FS and have to keep my strong side thumb off the slide or I risk having it on the slide release and thus the slide won't lock back on last round. When I grip I try to put it on the first joint of my weak hand thumb. My weak side thumb rides the slide and is pointed at the target.

Blksheep: "Strong index finger pointed at the threat. Strong thumb stacked on top of support thumb"

I must be retarded.. if you're STRONG index finger is pointing at the threat HOW DO YOU PULL THE TRIGGER?? How can you pull the trigger if you are pointing it?