DSD1026

Bringing Ammo into NYS

I know this isn't exactly a NJ Gun Law question, but I am wondering something and hope someone might be able to shed some light on this..

Going to visit my family in NY (upstate/western, not City, and not going through the City either) any my father has a couple 9mm guns that he wants me to try out at his range when we go. However, if we are going to do that, I dont want him wasting all of his own 9mm ammo on it, so I was thinking of bringing a couple boxes of 9mm ammo with us when we go.. (and maybe some shotgun ammo as well)

Question is, is it legal to bring ammo into NY State? (not a firearm, just ammo since i know clearly that bringing a handgun into NY state is illegal no matter what - if your destination is actually in NYS)

Im not sure if anyone can answer it, but maybe those who live closer to the NY border have had experience with this? I couldnt find anything specifically about it by doing a google search..

I'm not a lawyer so don't take this as legal advice.. I think it's perfectly legal. Having said that.. I would drive normally (no speeding). If you do get stopped. Never consent to a search. Do not answer any questions. Do not tell anyone you have ammunition.

well, i would definitely not be advertising that i had ammo.. it would be in a duffel bag in the back of the SUV along with our suitcases, etc. Plus, my dog will be in the back seat, so i highly doubt checking for ammo is going to be the biggest worry (and i dont normally go too fast, but since i'll be on NY roads for probably 3 hours, im just trying to get a sense)..

sounds like I shouldnt have too much of an issue since me & the wife and the dog will just be on a trip up to western NY to visit the family

I was paraphrasing from the law:

Non-residents