Tactical Turtle

Why Do You Have Guns?

Cause I'm from 'Merica!

But really it's 2 fold.

1. Home protection

2. Shooting is a fun hobby. I love to go to range and just have some fun. No different than playing horseshoes, working on a car project or going to the movies. So may of my friends look at me different cause of my gun owner ship, but to me it's no different than any other hobby.

Cause I'm from 'Merica!

But really it's 2 fold.

1. Home protection

2. Shooting is a fun hobby. I love to go to range and just have some fun. No different than playing horseshoes, working on a car project or going to the movies. So may of my friends look at me different cause of my gun owner ship, but to me it's no different than any other hobby.

^ THIS !!!!

I've been shooting since I was 7-8 years old. I had my own pump BB gun at 9-10 and semi-auto .22 at 14. My father had a Colt AR15 SP1 back in the '80s we used to shoot all the time. As an adult I purchased my first handgun after getting married and buying a home at the age of 26. That was in 1995. The day I learned the Colt Match Target was legal in NJ (1996) I drove out to PA and bought one. From that point on I was just hooked on trying to improve upon my skills. I also have a very deep appreciation for the engineering of various guns. To me it is amazing what goes into making something that can withstand such extremes yet be so reliable. To sum it up, hobby, self/home defense and engineering appreciation.

I'm an avid competitor in several shooting sports, and found I just wasn't competitive when I was throwing bullets downrange.   I had to upgrade to firearms just to level the playing field.

A few are family heirlooms.