7-3-2

Rust on my brand new SR1911 :/

So after the 6+ month wait to get my permit I was so excited to buy my SR1911 that I didn't inspect it nearly as close as I should have. Lets just say that the rust is not easily detectable by any means (plus I am completely new to 1911's so I was just dumbfounded by the feel and fit and couldn't wait to bring the thing home.

Anyways, I get it home take it apart lube it up and notice what looks to be rust on the hammer. I think to myself maybe it isn't rust and try and rub it off but no luck. Then I start to look closer at the rest of the finish and F&!% sure enough I see signs of oxidation on the frame and the slide! So I'm already contacting Ruger but I am just hoping its not a contaminated batch of materials or something because then I'll be waiting another 6+ months before I'll be able to pick the replacement piece up!

Okay, now that I have vented a bit ... has anyone else come across anything like this before? I only bought it on the 25th!

s5hbaq.jpg

147ma9.jpg

312cme1.jpg

That sucks. I had that happen on my Glock. I sent them the slide and they replaced it. You can overnight it to them and I believe they can overnight it to you with signature confirmation. Not sure what happens if they swap the frame and it's a different serial number. If they swap it out keep all the paperwork.

That sucks. I had that happen on my Glock. I sent them the slide and they replaced it. You can overnight it to them and I believe they can overnight it to you with signature confirmation. Not sure what happens if they swap the frame and it's a different serial number. If they swap it out keep all the paperwork.

Yeah, Im worried because the frame is rusting that they might try and replace the whole unit (which if thats what it comes to then so be). I am pretty sure I would have to have the firearm sitting with an FFL until I was able to obtain a new permit which just took me 6 frigging months lol.