Gunnz

Newb Stock Advice....

23 posts in this topic

About a month ago, I posted a thread about buying or building and AR, and after coming across a great vendor deal, I purchased an Mp15 sport model from remixer for under 600.... Thanks again Steve!

Took it to a range last weekend, and loved the gun with one exception, the pinned legal stock is too long for me. I'm 5'10, but have worked out a lot in the past and have a pretty large chest ( not bragging) and the length of the firearm isn't perfect for me.

I know collapsible stocks are a no no in this great republic, and have been looking for alternatives. I like Magpuls look, quality and price. A local shop had the MOE fixed carbine stock in stock and almost bought it but.....

I'm a newb, and am not that handy. I mean I striped my glocks all the way down to clean them, but again a monkey can do that.

Would that be a product I could install myself with minimal work? Minimal tools?

Would I need a new buffer tube?

Would I be able to get the old stock off that's pinned?

Is it even legal to do this myself.

I'm kinda in a time crunch now too. I am going out of town this weekend to the south, and will be bringing it with me, gonna really test it out at a real range down in NC and would love for it to "feel" better.

Do you have a picture of the stock currently on it? Also I'm sure a few ffl's on the board here will gladly adjust it for a reasonable fee.

Edit: If you can see the tension pins on both sides you can knock them out, reposition the stock to your liking by drilling the new holes. I pinned my stock and have moved it several times depending on my mood. If you want to do a simple complete swap including the buffer tube an armorers wrench will do the trick. You can generally find them pretty cheap on amazon.

Do you have a picture of the stock currently on it? Also I'm sure a few ffl's on the board here will gladly adjust it for a reasonable fee.