Howard

My newest photo toy - its sky high :)

So I got myself a DJI Phantom2 Vision plus, which is a quad copter with a stabilized video camera.  Got the guts to take it up to just over 200 feet today and shot this.  Not the greatest yet, but I am still learning.

http://youtu.be/JhWEcAa1gSo

Legally?  FAA rules say you are not supposed to fly it beyond where you can see it, and you are not supposed to fly it using first person view either where you navigate via the onboard camera you watch on your phone or tablet..  I'm only a novice so I have only gone 200' up but it will actually go about 1,500' up although I think FAA rules want you to stay below 500'.  As for distance out of the box it can go about 1/2 a mile away before you lose connection but there are after-market antennas that get you out about 2 miles.  Check out dji.com for details.

That's wicked cool.  I'd bet you can now get some really cool wedding videos.

Can't make money with it --  FAA says so

Also huge insurance issues with flying over people --

I still want to build one--  with GPS waypoint capabilities...  

Jeremy, this unit is GPS controlled and you can set up to 16 waypoints for auto controlled flight so that you can concentrate on camera work only. FAA has been rules to be full of crap by the courts and many people are using these things to make money, I know two personally that are doing it. You can get business insurance but if used as a hobby homeowners covers your liability or you can join AMA for about $80 a year which includes insurance.

It's amazing how fast technology moves along.  When I worked at Bell Labs in Holmdel (90's) we had an RC club.  One of the guys had a plane with a film camera that took pictures at a set interval.  That was considered  "high tech" at the time.