JeepDrum

Greetings from Camden County

Hi All,

Just joined here, living in Camden County. I don't own any firearms yet but I hope to acquire my first handgun within the next few months. I've shot before but I'm not a pro by any means. I thought it would be good to join and learn some stuff so I can make an informed decision for my first gun.

Thanks for the welcome everyone!

Welcome!

Is your paperwork in at your local PD? (For your FPID card and pistol permits)

Did you do your fingerprints yet?

No not yet. I'm still trying to research the process in my free time. Honestly I'm not even completely sure what exactly is required yet.

Welcome to the forums.

Put in your paperwork. You'll have plenty of time to do research while you wait for you FID and permits.

Word of advice. Put in for 2 permits. A, because you'll want more than just one and B, because each time you want a new permit you have to jump through ALL the hoops / fill out ALL the paperwork (except for the finger printing) again.

What are you thinking about purchasing?

Thanks again guys

Welcome to the forums.

Put in your paperwork. You'll have plenty of time to do research while you wait for you FID and permits.

Word of advice. Put in for 2 permits. A, because you'll want more than just one and B, because each time you want a new permit you have to jump through ALL the hoops / fill out ALL the paperwork (except for the finger printing) again.

What are you thinking about purchasing?

Thanks for the wisdom. Do the permits expire after a while? If I get two and use one right away, how long would I have to use the other?

I'm definitely going to get a handgun first. Probably in 9mm. I feel like that is the most cost-effective route since I'll want to put a lot of rounds through it. I want something for home defense and a little fun at the range too. Other than that, I don't really have my mind set on anything specific right now.

Thanks again guys