carl_g

Hornady L&L AP

So I am thinking of moving up to a progressive press. I have been using my Lee classic turret for 3 or 4 years now and I want to upgrade. I don't plan on having a case feeder set up so I am leaning towards a lnl vs. a Dillon 650. I want auto indexing and I also want a 5th die hole so that rules out the 550b.

Do people here have any good or bad experiences with the Hornady? Hopefully this doesn't turn into a red vs. blue debate..

Looking at Hornady dies..they offer both roll and taper crimp sets for 9mm and 45ACP. For the Lee dies I was always using the Lee factory crimp die.. which version of the Hornady dies do I want and why? Thanks!

Any round that headspaces on the case mouth (9MM, 45ACP, etc) you want to use a taper crimp not a roll crimp.  It is very important as the round's case mouth provides this headspace.  Most reloaders will use a taper crimp die as a separate step to insure proper bullet seating.  Some claim better seating.  I used a standard hornady set for years before getting a taper crimp die with no problems.  Get a chamber gauge for each caliper, this I find is the biggest plus when reloading.  It is a machined gauge that mimics the minimum SAAMI spec chamber.  If your loaded ammo seats easily and within limits of the gauge, it should work in any firearm in that caliber.  See L E Wilson or others for the gauges, they are very reasonable.

Any manufacturer's standard sized dies will work in a progressive press.  So those Lee dies will work in a LNL press. 

Ok. I read that Lee dies don't wok so well on the lnl due to the length. I guess that is not correct. Thanks!

Could be an issue, i don't know for sure, i was speaking to the thread diameter and pitch on the die.  Try it first and see.  Unless someone here knows for sure.

There is no reason to buy new dies.... Use what you have

This is my experience also.

I don't think you can go wrong with either the hornady or the dillon.