SmittyMHS

Who wears glasses?

I can't be alone on this. I know I'm getting old and I'm just getting into handguns. Haven't had much in the way of pratice but from what I've done I seem to have a vision problem I can't seem to figure out. I took a handgun course and realised I had trouble with my progressive lens glasses.Had to tilt my head way back to see the front site clearly. (if you wear them, you know what I'm talking about) So I purchesed a pair of bi-focals. So now I can see the site well. But NOT the target. I can still hit paper but have no idea where exactly. So..my question is...does anyone use an eye Dr. that would undrstand my problem so he could make lenes that somehow would help? Or, better yet, anyone have another fix for this?

Been there, seen it, done it.  My solution was to go to an eye doctor who shoots.  He spent about an hour with me early one Saturday morning with my SIRT pistol (this NJ can't take a real gun to the eye doctor).  Anyway, what I had him do was optimize the lens for my right eye for the exact distance to my sights and optimize the left eye to about 15 yards.  It took a little while to get used to this, but now that I am adjusted to this setup it works great.

Your eye can only focus on one thing at a time. Between the rear sight, front sight and target, pick the front sight. I like howard's solution.

Sent from an undisclosed location.

I've worn eye glasses for 50 years.

Panoramic bifocals are what you need.

The middle is my nearsighted prescription,outside ring is reading glasses and they are progressive.

Fit properly...look down the middle and you have your front sight focused.

Howard's solution is what they do with contact lens' for nearsighted / reading glasses solution.

I guess it works... but he just sold you another pair of glasses you may not need.