AlDente67

Bathroom remodel - Fair price?

I have a small bath off the bedroom that has a basic 24" sink/cabinet, corner shower enclosure.  The total size is around 6' by 6'.  Pretty small.  Since the entire thing must have been done in the 70's, It is going to be a full gut, new enclosure from a big-box store, re-tiling the corner walls inside the shower, a couple of ceiling lights.  Nothing fancy

I received one quote at around $5500 labor + materials (whatever I pick at the store).  I thought it seemed a bit steep for such a small room with no moving around of plumbing or layout.  I know people spend many times that on fancy bathrooms (that are also much larger).

If you have done this before, do you think the price sounds about right?  I offered to gut it down to the studs myself and let him take over from there, but that would save me only about $500 in labor.

I used to be a residential contractor and just did one of our bathrooms at home here. There are so many variables it's hard to say exactly, but I would say that price is not outrageous and will probably fall in the middle if you get more quotes...not a great (a steal) price either, but here are some considerations:

Will all the new stuff just fit right in or are there small packing, shimming and adjusting jobs to do all over?

The materials and steps required for a small bath are the same for a large bath...it's just more material.

Is he giving you a good waterproofing membrane to protect the substrates?

Fitting tile into existing is always full of problems and takes time.

Flooring issues?

You might be able to save by asking what products are going into the job...price them out. It seems a little odd that you can get whatever you want for a set price.