leahcim

Any Subaru owners?

I need to buy a new car and the Subaru Outback is coming up pretty high on my list.

Its excellent crash test ratings and solid reviews are the largest factor.  Reliability seems right up there close to Toyota and Honda, plus the collision avoidance and tech-based safety package looks pretty good.

I have never owned a Subaru before--Anyone have good or bad experiences with the brand?

Other contenders are Honda/Toyota CUV/SUV (CRV/RAV, Pilot/Highlander)--the larger (Pilot/Highlander) SUV was my original plan, but looking at the Outback I realize it is big enough, great safety ratings, and better ownership costs (especially considering fuel).

I drove the Outback today and loved it.  Just trying to come up with a reason not to buy it.

Thanks!

No real personal experience except back in 96 when I drove my Mom's Legacy for a few weeks while waiting for my car to be fixed around the time I graduated H.S. That being said, she's owned a Subaru Legacy from '95 and every single new car she's bought since has been a Subaru Legacy....says something about the brand at least. 

I'm a first-time Outback owner; got my 2016 last November.   I've been very happy with it.   I commute 90 miles a day, so liked it's reputation as a car that will last.    I'm not getting the 33 mpg highway that was advertised, but I'm averaging 27, maybe 28 mpg; commute is about 80% highway, so being a bit below 33 is to be expected.

Car is comfortable, rides well, looks good in my opinion, I love how the roof rack crossbars fold into the side rails when not in use to improve mileage and reduce wind noise.  I'm still finding other nice design surprises as well.