PDM

Election and National Carry Reciprocity

With Trump in office and Republican control over house and senate, the chances of passage of a national carry reciprocity bill now seems quite high.  There are currently 3 or 4 proposed bills.  They are all substantially similar -- and all specifically provide that reciprocity doesn't apply to a person in their state of residence.  For example, if such a bill passed, permit holders resident in any other state could carry in NJ but a NJ resident with an out of state permit could not.  That is an insane result and it would be interesting to see what would happen.

My question is -- why?  Why do each of these bills have this same limitation?  Tenth Amendment challenge?  Granting reciprocity to non-NJ residents would itself already be subject to Tenth Amendment challenge?  Is it because the commerce clause wouldn't apply?  I am a lawyer but haven't been able to figure it out.  Does anyone here understand the issue?  

I always understood it to do with state rights. What happens within borders of a state is their business, what happens between states is Federal.  I could be wrong.  Of course, with pro 2A to be nominated to the SCOTUS and possible more appointments, we just may see cases the court refused to handle, now be heard.  It will be interesting.  Hey Justice RBG, booked your flights yet?  Wouldn't it be great if Donny asked her to hold the bible on Inauguration Day as Roberts issues the oath?

• Like 1