El_Mal90

Private Sale of Rifle - In State

I just wanted to check my logic on the sale of a rifle to an in state resident, as it is my first time selling. I read evrything I could find on the State Police's website, and I came up with the following: Verify FID and Photo ID information and filling out a certificate of eligibility (make a copy for the buyer and I keep the original).

Just seems weird to me that nothing has to be sent in to the State Police. Also, I apologize if this has been discussed elsewhere, I did a search and couldn't really find anything.Thank you in advance for any help/information that can be provided.

I just wanted to check my logic on the sale of a rifle to an in state resident, as it is my first time selling. I read evrything I could find on the State Police's website, and I came up with the following: Verify FID and Photo ID information and filling out a certificate of eligibility (make a copy for the buyer and I keep the original).

Just seems weird to me that nothing has to be sent in to the State Police. Also, I apologize if this has been discussed elsewhere, I did a search and couldn't really find anything.Thank you in advance for any help/information that can be provided.

No, nothing has to be sent to the state police *for rifles*. The buyer can voluntarily report ownership to their local police department, but otherwise the only paperwork that HAS to be done is a C.O.E. which you know about. Keep your copy as the seller so that if something happens and they track the firearm down via Serial #, you have proof that you are no longer the owner of the rifle; otherwise, you could be on the hook if, say, it was found at the scene of a murder.

I Keep originals and also have two sets of copies at two different locations in NJ in the event of the destruction/theft of the originals.