Schrödinger's cat

ATT. Shane, Old School, Eric. and other LR guys

I have most of the pieces for my 6.5 Grendel AR. Although there is nowhere local that has a 1000 yard range, my intention is to build a rifle easily capable of that range. I am a beginner and I know I have a lot of work and practice to do, but I want to heve the proper equipment. What scope should I look at ? I've had this one recommended to me, what do you think ?

http://www.opticsplanet.com/nightforce-benchrest

Also how close can I shoot with that ? Do I need a RMR type sight on a side angle mount ? Do I need a 20 moa riser ? Can I buy a scope used ?

While I'm not on the list of people you are looking for comment from I'll give you my advice and remember what you are paying for it.

I have a two Grendel ARs, can Grendel cartridges do 1000 yards, eh, maybe.  Accurately?  Maybe a bit less so.  What barrel length were you looking to do?  That's a critical bit.  The 6mmAR based off the Grendel is a bit more capable at distance if you want to shoot precision at 1k, I have one, Frank has one, but that still wouldn't be what I chose to go that length.  

If the primary purpose is to shoot at distance consider one of the more popular 6.5mm or 6mm precision cartridges like the x47 Lapua (if you reload) or the Creedmoor if you don't.  Also do it with a 700 action bolt action, cheap, and get it trued, a few hundred more.  I have a 6.5x47L on trued Remington action with a KRG chassis and it's awesome.  The action and barrel are new and everything was was purchased in great shape used including the Timney Calvin trigger (125 bucks).  

The priciest thing you will but will be the scope to handle that distance.    Scope choices are highly dependent on budget, what's yours?  On my two precision rifles I have G2DMR and Leupold MK6.  On my 6mmAR I have a Vortex PST FFP.  

Again take it FWIW and let's see what @Old School and @Shane45 have to say.  

• Like 1