Scorpio64

Deer Ticks

Yesterday I was doing a lot of hedge and shrub trimming.  Last night I pulled a regular old dog tick off of me before it sunk it's fangs into me.  This morning I found 4 more ticks.  I missed them last night because they are so freaking small, I mean really reallllly tiny.  They were deer ticks.   I'm a landscaper so my risk is a lot higher than the average person but this was the most ticks I ever found on me and the first time I found deer ticks.

Just a word of caution.  Use a repellent and check yourself thoroughly after you have been working outside (especially in brush).

Did the 4 deer ticks you found bite you? If so, I would definitely follow up with your doctor and get a Lyme disease test at some point in the future. I have heard up to 50% of deer ticks in some areas have/can transmit Lyme disease! Don't mess around, Lyme disease can range from mild to extremely serious!!

They say if you find them attached and it's been less than 24 hours you can remove and be reasonably assured that no infection has taken place. Yeah, Bravo Sierra. A one time dose of 200mg Doxycycline within 72 hours of being bitten provides a little more assurance of not getting disease. I have had lyme three times so far, and still dealing with after effects even though they tell me I am "cured".  

This engineer I use to work with has Lyme Disease. He didn't know they got into his groin area. One morning when he work up, his balls were the size of a 5 lb bags of potatoes. This is not something to trifle with. He has to take meds for the rest of his life. He's lucky he ended up ok.

No chances taken. Get to a doctor asap.

1 hour ago, EWC88 said:

Since I have a acre of woods and been slowly clearing some of it, this gets me nervous. What's a good spray I should use to make these suckers stay away from me?

Deep Woods Off has worked for me.  I'll have remember to pack a can in my work bag.

2 hours ago, EWC88 said: