jm1827

Pheasant Hunting

Got a chance to go pheasant hunting next weekend and have never gone before.  I have my trusty 870 Wingmaster with a 26" improved choke barrel, I was wondering what loads to use.  I have plenty of 7-1/2 trap & skeet load, 1-1/8 oz of shot on hand?

Any recommendations on what size and type of ammo I should be using?

Thanks

If hunting behind a pointing dog the 7 1/2s should be okay. If just walking and flushing or pass(tower) shooting then I'd go for high brass 6s. I'd even bring high brass 5s. 

Hitting pheasant isn't hard. Hitting them hard enough that they drop and don't run is another thing.  

Good luck. 

Nick

• Like 1

I'd say go with high brass 6.  I've used it successfully on 2 CNJFO hunts.

32 minutes ago, jm1827 said:

I don't think so, I think it is the - Pheasant Fest?

Nope - CNJFO Pheasant Hunt is at  Giberson's Preserve in Pemberton.  Next Saturday the 17th.

23 hours ago, Danno said:

Check with the place you are hunting. If it's public land you can do what you want. If it's a preserve they may limit the size of the shot they allow. 

Great advice as most Preserves limit you to #6 shot.  The reason is multiple hunting parties hunting simultaneously, which is how Preserves make money.  Nobody wants to take a shower of #4's in an adjacent field :) 

CNJFO's Hunt at Giberson's is just 8 days from now (I can't wait!)!

• Like 3

I’ve hunted semi wild pheasant for a long time and if they get up and fly you can easily knock them down with 6-71/2 shot. 

There pen raised and not as strong flyers 

maybe an occasional cock bird may take off strong 

On ‎3‎/‎8‎/‎2018 at 9:01 AM, Danno said:

Check with the place you are hunting. If it's public land you can do what you want. If it's a preserve they may limit the size of the shot they allow. 

Great advice, it is a private preserve and #6 shot is the max allowed.  I have a few different #7-1/2 loads I will bring.

Another question- does anyone wear any type of hearing protection?