Noobwithquestions

Displaying my AR

Hey All,

This is my first time here so not sure if it’s the right place. I just recently purchased my first custom AR 15 type build and they sent me a standing display that goes in like a magazine.

Can I have my gun out on display in my home if there is no ammo or magazine in it? Do I have to have it locked up in safe? I don’t know what the laws actually are.

Thank you for any help.

There is no law against what you propose. At the moment there is no specific storage law in NJ other than making sure children never have access. 

I suggest however that you consider that NJ is a gun hostile environment. Who will be able to see your 'display', either from inside or outside your house? Do you really want each and every one of those potential viewers to know what you have? And possible subsequent access?

Also, I would not leave it on display anytime I was out of the house. Then it would be locked up.

I'm sure you're proud of your acquisition and would like to show it off. Balance that against the other risks it involves. As for me, I once had the need to 'display'. But it passed quickly, as it did with other personal items.

• Agree 2

30 minutes ago, 45Doll said:

There is no law against what you propose. At the moment there is no specific storage law in NJ other than making sure children never have access....

2C:58-15. Minor's access to a loaded firearm; penalty, conditions

1. a. A person who knows or reasonably should know that a minor is likely to gain access to a loaded firearm at a premises under the person's control commits a disorderly persons offense if a minor gains access to the firearm, unless the person:

.... (1) Stores the firearm in a securely locked box or container;

.... (2) Stores the firearm in a location which a reasonable person would believe to be secure; or

.... (3) Secures the firearm with a trigger lock.

b. This section shall not apply: