revenger

brass cleaning

I experimented with the wet tumbling method of brass cleaning utilizing the Lemishine and Dawn dish detergent as seen on youtube without the steel pins and the results were great.

I have an old RCBS sidewinder that I have been using with walnut since 1987 and it gets to be a pain having to clear the media out of the flashholes.  This wet method will be my new way of processing my brass.   even the insides are clean and shiny as well as the primer pockets

give it a try and see for your self,   I did about 100 .223 yesterday and today i'll do the rest of my .45AR and ACP.  The brass looks brand new.

small spoon of Lemishine

a drop of Dawn,    it really suds up

I tumbled for about 1 hr

drained the mix into my sifter

dried in oven at 175 for about 20 minutes.,   I'll let it sit for a few days to make sure there is no moisture and than prime and load.

on a side note I have been getting alot of stuck .223 cases in my RCBS small base die and just got my delivery of the Redding Imperial sizing lube which is highly recommended,  I'll finish my .223 brass today and give a report. 

I use stainless steel media. I haven't had any issues with it getting stuck in flashholes like you do with walnut. I initially just used dishwasher detergent and it worked, but lately I've started adding a tidbit of Lemishine and the brass looks brand spanking new.

Got a food dehydrator too for cheap that I can stick my brass in and ensure it's dry.

And for the most ridiculous containers for holding brass, I've been using Utz pretzel containers. The ones for pretzel rods. I put my brass in there, throw in some packets of desiccant, and put on the lid. Surprising puts on a solid seal. My friend from work taught me a lot of these tricks and snacks on Utz pretzels on his 2 hour drive to work so he always has empties in the back of his truck I can grab (he has more than he needs so he saves some for me). 

58 minutes ago, revenger said: