Sign in to follow this  
MartyZ

.223 bullet question

I finally got my SPR working and am now ready to reload for it. I have been reloading for a few years now but strictly pistol ammo, .45, 9mm, and .40, have not yet reloaded rifle. I have all the needed hardware along with over 1k of ready to reload .223 brass that I have been saving throughout the years but now I need some info, specifically when it comes to reloading for precision shooting.

I know that I will have to go through a lot of trial and error to find the correct combination of components to make the right bullet for my rifle but I figured I could limit my financial exposure a little by narrowing down my possible bullet and powder selection.

I am looking into 69gr at the moment and have been reasearching a few bullets and have some questions. The first question, are all match 69gr and heavier bullets HPs? Looking at Hornady, Sierra, Barnes, Nosler, etc... they are all either HPs or Tipped.

Also, I have read that some bullets have issues that they can't be seated deep enough to get an AOL that works in AR mags. Specifically about the A-Max, that the ogive is long enough to create this type of problem.

Also, powder, I would prefer a powder that meters easy and is in ready supply. Was looking into CFE 223 but not sure if it's a good powder for precision ammo.

As always, I appreciate all the help I can get.    

I use 75gr Hornady BTHP bullets. They're relatively cheap without sacrificing performance. My precision .223 uses IMR 8208 XBR for powder. It's a short extruded powder that I have found meters +/- .1gr in my Dillon measures. Being a short powder, it doesn't bridge across the case mouth the way longer powders like H4895 do (which I use for .308). My load is near max but out of an 18" bbl, I'm getting 2850fps with the 75gr Hornady HPBT and sub-MOA accuracy.