Lawnmower2021

Clay Thrower Recommendations?

The recent (attempted) meet at Clinton WMA inspired me to look into getting my own clay thrower for use at the same range.

Any suggestions? Most of the time it would just be for myself, maybe a couple other people like my wife.

I've hit some clays but I'm no pro. I'd like something that can be transported / operated by one person. Any suggestions?

I recommend two features:

(1) A counterweight on the throwing arm and
(2)a mechanism to stop the arm in the partially cocked position instead of letting it swing back to it's home position.

Very few clay traps have a counterweight and traps without one jump around every time you throw a pigeon.  So you have to mount them on something heavy and inconvenient to drag around like an old truck tire or you have to put cinder blocks on the plywood it's mounted onto.  Buy one with a counterweight and it stays where you set it.

Cocking a clay trap is much easier if the arm swings and then stays at the end of it's travel.  Most throwing arms swing around to throw the clay and then swing back to it's home position.  A one way bearing or some sort of ratchet mechanism stops the arm from swinging back.  That means the arm is already 75% cocked and you only have to push it a little bit to cock it every time.  Makes cocking the trap much easier.

I have a Flightmaster Jr.  Not expensive, not fancy, but it has both of these features.  Looks like they're about $80 and available on Optics Planet.

I made a very simple "T" out of 2x4's to mount mine on.  Light weight and easy to transport and I don't need the heavy weights.

• Thanks 1

How much do you want to spend and how often will you be using it?