gloom

Gone South

(I usually skip this part.) I'm a former long-time NJ resident gone south. Since my sisters in NJ have pistols now, I figure it might be helpful if I'm up to date on gun related topics in NJ. I wasn't a gun owner in NJ, but now I have growing family. heh (The latest addition is a shotgun for clays and maybe multi-gun competition.) I recently read that NJ limits shotguns magazines to 6 rounds which I didn't expect. That's an example of why I need to stay informed! I figured it would be 10 rounds like pistols. (Maybe 10 mini shells?)

Although I empathize with the difficulty of gun ownership in NJ I was also pleasantly surprised while searching for range and competition options! There is a lot going on that I never knew about! And the positive changes to concealed carry! And all the fellow gun people here! (The Pew Crew? No?)

Edited by gloom

Hey, welcome to our clubhouse.  The six round limit on shotguns (6 + 1) in NJ applies only to semiautos.  There is no limit on pumps. I do not know how mini shells are treated under the law.  Perhaps someone else can weigh in on that.

2 hours ago, Old Glock guy said:

I do not know how mini shells are treated under the law.  Perhaps someone else can weigh in on that.

I don't think it will be an issue. My understanding is mini-shells don't work well (if at all) in semi-autos, so it's a moot point.

10 hours ago, Old Glock guy said:

Hey, welcome to our clubhouse.  The six round limit on shotguns (6 + 1) in NJ applies only to semiautos.  There is no limit on pumps. I do not know how mini shells are treated under the law.  Perhaps someone else can weigh in on that.

Oh! That makes a big difference! (Of course a semi-auto is more "assaulty" than a pump. heheh)

8 hours ago, 45Doll said:

I don't think it will be an issue. My understanding is mini-shells don't work well (if at all) in semi-autos, so it's a moot point.

Good point! Although I can see someone getting into trouble for even loading up with minis.