jim35058

need advise from nj pros

Ok guys please help

My father passed in 02 he had a few pistols now obviously they went to my mother. Does she have to do anything in nj to put them on her permit or no ?? Second what does she have to do to give them to me . I am a NY resident upstate not city. I am also a LEO if that changes anything.

thanks

Jim

She doesn't need to do anything as far as registering them:

"N.J.A.C. 13:54-1.13 Firearms passing to heirs or legatees

(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of this subchapter concerning the transfer, receipt or

acquisition of a firearm, a permit to purchase a handgun or a firearms purchaser identification card

shall not be required for the passing of a firearm upon the death of an owner thereof to their heir or

legatee, whether the same be by testamentary bequest or by the laws of intestacy. A person so

acquiring ownership may retain the firearm if he or she meets the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:54-

1.5 and 1.6.

(B) If an heir or legatee is not qualified to acquire a firearm, he or she may retain ownership of

the firearm for the purpose of sale for a period of 180 days, which period may be extended by the

chief of police or the Superintendent. During such period the firearm must be placed in the custody

of the chief of police or Superintendent.

© In the case of assault firearms or machine guns disposition shall be in accordance with

N.J.A.C. 13:54-5."

As far as transering them to you, they will need to go to an FFL in NYS.

Some FFLs will not accept firearms from individuals, only FFLs, others will.

Hopee that helps. Others will chime in.

ok now what if theres no documentation stating that he left them to me basically it was word of mouth. Can i legally take them to ny and register them or no