woodentoe

Signed up for Hunter's Ed 10/21/12

So, I've signed up to take Hunter's Ed on 10/21/12 at Black River WMA in Chester. I'm going to see if I can walk on this Sunday, but the date is just gone from the schedule on the site. Since it is a month out, I signed up for all three disciplines. I suppose that if I'm not able to get a bow and feel comfortable, then I just won't test in it. But, I'm confident on safe handling, loading and shooting the ML and shotgun.

Since I have ZERO Archery experience. Could someone help me get started? I've read that x-bow will be easier to test with in shorter order. I'd like to LEARN how to use a trad bow, but my near term goal is to pass the test.

If anyone can offer pointers, or suggestions on a low cost xbow that will get me past the field day (I won't hunt unless I'm confident on my ability), or even if anyone happens to have a beater bow or xbow I could borrow to learn on I'd be much obliged.

I'm excited to learn and am hoping I enjoy hunting as much as I think I will.

-Jim

So, I've signed up to take Hunter's Ed on 10/21/12 at Black River WMA in Chester. I'm going to see if I can walk on this Sunday, but the date is just gone from the schedule on the site. Since it is a month out, I signed up for all three disciplines. I suppose that if I'm not able to get a bow and feel comfortable, then I just won't test in it. But, I'm confident on safe handling, loading and shooting the ML and shotgun.

Since I have ZERO Archery experience. Could someone help me get started? I've read that x-bow will be easier to test with in shorter order. I'd like to LEARN how to use a trad bow, but my near term goal is to pass the test.

If anyone can offer pointers, or suggestions on a low cost xbow that will get me past the field day (I won't hunt unless I'm confident on my ability), or even if anyone happens to have a beater bow or xbow I could borrow to learn on I'd be much obliged.