Sign in to follow this  
bobblahblah

New to scopes, few questions

Ok so I am pretty new to rifle scopes. I have never had to buy one, nor do I really know what I should be looking for in a decent scope. I was seeing if anyone could give me some advice or suggestions for a decent scope within my price range.

Right now I have a Sig 556. I love absolutely love this weapon. Great alternative to the standard AR platform. Being in the Army, I can easily hit 300m targets iron sighted or with a red dot, however there are certainly downsides to shooting that distance with no scope. I am looking into getting I guess a medium power scope that I can see what Im hitting better, and to get my grouping tighter. Just something I can throw on the top of my rifle for a different kind of shooting. Of course being in NJ, the furthest I can shoot here is 200-300yds...

So right now I am looking to spend $100-300, I know that isnt a lot but just seeing what I can get the most bang for my buck. If anyone has any suggestions or maybe what I should/shouldnt be looking for that would be great. thanks!

Wicked:

Midway has a Bushnell Elite 3200 10x in their latest sale brochure. Bushnell is discontinuing the 3200 and 4200 lines. They were great glass, especially for the dollars spent. I have one of each. It is a 1" tube with a mildot reticle with 1/10 mill adjustments. It is on sale for $199, leaving you $100 for a mount. The Burris PEPR mount seems to be popular and can be had with or without throwlevers for quick mount/dismount from the gun. Also available @ Midway. I think the QD version runs around $85 - leaving $15 for SHI. Hope that they haven't run out. Good luck.

Adios,

Pizza Bob

PS: Sent you a PM

Pizza Bob makes a great suggestion the Bushnell are great scopes. Three others are Leupold Rifleman series, Nikon Buckmark and Weaver scopes. The Weaver scopes are made by Leupold in the same factory as their namesake scopes. The Weaver line is the value line for Leupold.