Sign in to follow this  
302w

Help me build my first AR. M16A1 inspired

I finally bought a lower today, and 'scored' an LRB for $179. Not a bad price IMO and should be in soon. I ordered a second one for my dad and hopefully they will be consecutive which will be cool.

Now, I have never built an AR before. I know little about ARs, and never even shot one. Closest thing was a Colt M16 that someone was nice enough to let me do 30 round mag dumps in PA. I still watch the video from time to time with a big smile :D

Now, I want a forward assist carry handle upper with a 20" barrel and triangle handguards. Thing is, I don't know what manufacturers to avoid of what parts. Right now I can buy a slew of carry handle uppers from Sarco but I don't know what I need. I guess the M16A2 upper is more desireable due to the upgraded sights and foward assist.

Although, do I need an M16A2 upper versus an A1 upper? I don't care for the case deflector. Other than sights, I don't know the difference between A1 w/ forward assist and case deflector and standard A2.

A1, no FA or case deflector

http://www.e-sarcoinc.com/m16a1retroupper-1.aspx

A1, with FA and deflector

http://www.e-sarcoinc.com/m16a1retroupper.aspx

A2

http://www.e-sarcoinc.com/ar15m16a2upperreceivernewassemblyrearsight.aspx

Also, for individual parts, what parts do I not want to cheap out on, and what parts can I go cheap? I would like to use a quality LPK, chrome lined barrel, and quality chrome BCG if they make a difference.

How close to authenticity do you want to build it? If it's looks you want, then either A1 upper receiver will match the retro styling to match the triangle handguard. The non forward assist was the first generation M16. The second gen had the forward assist with the designation M16A1. I prefer the forward assist because I actually use it.