NJSigfan

Bullet shape and its affect on reloading data

Hey guys-

I'm still learning my way through the reloading world and have a question. How does bullet shape affect reloading date if the bullets are the same weight?

Example: I have 225 grain plated flat point bullets (sample pack of 100) and my Lyman book has a listing for 225 grain jacketed HPs . Can I use the load data for the HPs?

Thanks for the help

Ballistic Coefficient has to do with a bullet's air resistance in flight.  Something like cars.  Pointy ones go better, farther.  Less wind resistance.

Sectional Density has to do with a bullet's weight in relation to its width.  Higher values means they go faster and hit harder.

In this case the makeup of the bullet, plated vs jacketed, is the issue here.

Plated are not as durable as jacketed.  Plated can be loaded using any lead loading data.  Jacketed data maybe to much for plated bullets.  Plated and lead are typically .001 larger in diameter over jacketed. 

Most jacketed bullets of the same weight can be loaded with the same data. Example, HP, FN, RN, SWC. 

Same is true for Lead.  But only within their construction categories (lead or jacketed).

Rainier states the following on their website concerning load data for plated bullets:

If you only have access to traditionally jacketed load data, we recommend a starting powder charge directly between the listed minimum and maximum load, and you may use published load data found in reputable reloading manuals.

http://www.rainierballistics.com/loaddata.php