2 trip_nick

IMR Trail Boss in 7MM Remington Mag

I finally got to try some Trail Boss for reduced recoil loads in my 7mm rem mag at the range yesterday. They weren't exaggerating. The recoil was so light I'd have no problem letting a complete newbie fire the gun. Previously, I'd use a lead sled to hold the gun when I brought people to the range. If you have a gun that you don't bother firing much because of the recoil, I'd recommend it.

I used this chart for my starting load:

http://www.imrpowder.com/PDF/Trail-Boss-data.pdf

I was going to do a comparison with some high-power stuff but it was so cold I had to leave the range. My hand was frozen.

Hmm, I'll have to add this powder to my stock. Looks interesting.

I've used SR4759 with good luck in the 7mm Mag. for reduced loads, and of course Unique. For a mid-power load that's easy on the shoulder that is still potent for hunting at ranges under 200 yds., try starting with 43.5 grs. of IMR4064 with the 175 gr. bullet. Duplicates the factory 7x57 Mauser load (2,200 fps) and it's fun to shoot without the three-foot flame.

Hmm, I'll have to add this powder to my stock. Looks interesting.

I've used SR4759 with good luck in the 7mm Mag. for reduced loads, and of course Unique. For a mid-power load that's easy on the shoulder that is still potent for hunting at ranges under 200 yds., try starting with 43.5 grs. of IMR4064 with the 175 gr. bullet. Duplicates the factory 7x57 Mauser load (2,200 fps) and it's fun to shoot without the three-foot flame.

How'd you come up with that load for IMR4064? I've always read about the dangers of reduced powder charges.

I am ready to try trail boss for my 357 loads. I have been destroying my bowling pin targets at Central Jersey with full power 357.