Belmopan Gringo

New member from Sussex County

Good morning everyone

To introduce myself, I am a life-long New Jersey resident, currently living in Sussex County. I am not yet a gun owner- I have just applied for and received my firearms ID and a pistol permit. I have fired guns infrequently in the past, but clearly have a lot to learn.

My interest in firearms is primarily for self-defense. I have recently become interested in firearms because I intend to retire in a few years to a relatively high crime area of Central America, and I want to become proficient with both handguns and shotguns before I make the move.

Since I am a novice, I will gratefully accept any advice that anyone wishes to offer.

My most immediate need is to figure out what sort of handgun to purchase since my 90 days are starting to tick away. The country I will eventually be moving to does not allow handguns in excess of 9mm or .38, but it does not have a 15 round limitation like New Jersey does.

I am leaning toward a Glock, but I am having trouble deciding on whether to go with a 19 (which is stock legal in both locations) or a 17 (which would be stock legal there, but would require a 10 round magazine to be legal in New Jersey). Any suggestions?

Thank you all.

Hi, Welcome.

My only suggestion would be to shoot as many different guns as you can before you decide on a Glock. As to the particular Glock, get the 19 in NJ. The 17 is just a little bigger but there are the mag limitations.

Welcome. As mentioned you should shoot as many weapons as you can prior to purchasing. May I ask why you have jumped straight to glock? I personally feel that there are several better options. Good luck in your search.

Welcome. As mentioned you should shoot as many weapons as you can prior to purchasing. May I ask why you have jumped straight to glock? I personally feel that there are several better options. Good luck in your search.