Sign in to follow this  
JackDaWack

a300 anyone?

Looking for a nice upland/waterfowl semi-auto. a300 fits my budget and i'm a beretta guy. I have a wingmaster modded out for HD and i also have a 2nd 26" barrel for it, but its 40+ years old an in great condition, so i would rather not be lunking it through the woods and elements. So i need a new shotgun, and prefer semi for hunting. Was looking around at a bunch of SG's and stumbled upon this one with looks great, just wondering if anyone has one and try and get some feedback on it.. not much out there since its relatively new to the market.

How much are you looking to spend?  I have a Remmy 11-87 I could let go of :)

I looked at the A300 a little bit online - the reviews are pretty good for it.  Apparently the A300 is a redesigned 391 that's made in the US (in the MD Factory).  It's lighter and sleeker than the 3901 and is easy to clean.

I'm setting my limit at about $7-800, trying to keep the price low so i dont worry so much about abusing it to the elements... So far my 2 must haves are a barrel 26-28" with interchangeable chokes, i don't want to rely on flite control shells, and it needs a camo finish(preferably barrel and all). I was actually heading in the 11-87 direction until i stumbled onto the a300 which grabbed my attention

It's been out a while in the European market and seems to get good reviews and reliability reports. As said, its a redesigned 391 with an a400 end cap (though to a lower price point). If you haven't checked out the shotgunworld forums, there are lots of reviews there, mostly positive.