lunker

Use of a sling

So, much of what I know about shooting is either self taught or from books (which is probably evident in my shooting :)). One thing I never got a good read on was slings. One point, two point, three point. I have read about their advantages and disadvantages. I have a two point on my AR.

I have never really learned to use one well. Most of the time, it is a glorified carry strap for me.

I use the method where my supporting hand is at an angle and the strap is tight enough against my outer arm to give me stability (i.e. the strap is to the left of the rifle, shaped like a V against my arm). I know that there are other (and probably better) ways of using the sling. I have read about how (for the garand and 1903) you take a loop off the sling and grasp it. The method I use is considered the quick-and-dirty way of shooting (i.e. not for precision).

Does anyone have any good resources on using a sling, and all the options?

Thanks in advance.

Depends .. I personally think the modern sling is not very useful as a shooting aid from unsupported position. The "classic" shooting sling as used in high power competitions or the Ching sling can aid with stabilizing the rifle but they often require very odd manipulation that is not really easy to do with any degree of speed. Remember that the high power shooters wear whole jackets meant to force rigidity and very very strict positioning. In the "tactical" world (I hate that word, I really do) the sling is mostly a carry strap that places the rifle in a good position for transitions to secondary weapons, or gets the rifle out of the way for using your hands. The classic slings are handy for support but not very useful for quick weapon manipulation, switching to secondaries, shooting from the "wrong" shoulder and all that stuff people ooh and ahh about in the Magpul videos :)