SFDevine7

Second Gun Purchase

Ok well the first thing I'll say is that I am not yet 21 so handguns are out of the question right now. But I'm looking to buy my second gun (first one is S&W M&P 15-22) and was looking for some advice. I like the look and customizable potential of the AR platform but I was also looking at the Beretta Cx4 Storm and have shot that and really enjoyed it. I'm looking at this being a Christmas gift to myself so I have some time for research and to save, the budget I'm looking at right now is around $1K. I guess my only one thing is that being a college student I dont want something that is terribly expensive to shoot.

So I know a lot of you have AR's but who has the Cx4 Storm? What are some of the pros and cons to both?

I have the Cx4 Storm 9mm. One major con is the stock trigger has a lot of pull to it before the trigger actually engages. You can pull the trigger back then it will stop, then you pull it back even further and then it will fire. Since your budgeting around 1k for it you can go ahead and get the sierra papa trigger kit and eliminate that problem. The stock sights I feel are decent enough for up to 50 yards(haven't done any range time with it out past that) plus it has a rail system so you can put red dots, grips, lights, lasers slings, etc. I like the fact that you can reverse the controls for lefties from charging handle to ejection through mag release and safety.

You can get one that fits the 92fs mags or the px4 mags. But there is an insert or something you can do to make it accept the 92fs mags. I got mine at Arms-n-Ammo (PK90) for 770 before NICS and everything else. Going down to Paul at A-n-A is definitely worth it, plus if you shoot at SJSC he is literally 5 mins from the range.