Malsua

Fusion Physicist moonlighting as a cashier...

Every once in a while, specially when Itar makes the news, I go and see how the Polywell is coming along.   The Polywell is a nuclear fusor that, unlike the Tokamak(Itar), has real promise.  The Tokamak will NEVER work.  It is simply too complicated.   Too many people have spent entire careers on that project and it won't ever to go away.  They are just "10 years away" from success.  Always 10 years.

The Polywell, conceptualized by Robert Bussard, yeah, that Bussard (Bussard Ramjet anyone?) can work.  It can be done for 200 million.   The Tokamak is at 30 billion or so and counting.

Anyway, I was reading an article about the Polywell and the comment at the bottom struck me as hilarious.

nuclearcashier.jpg

More common than you'd think. I have a degree in biological sciences, with a minor in chemistry, research experience, and worked at a major biobank which supplies medical specimens to pharmaceutical companies, universities, and other research firms all over the world, and I'm currently working as a pharmacy technician making more than I did at the biobank.