Sign in to follow this  
Turboprop21

Corrosive ammo cleaning

I apologize for the new guy question but I'm just starting out on the mil surp hobby. I just picked up two rifles one which I'll be using surplus corrosive ammo. What method do you suggest for cleaning at the range just enough to stiff leg until I can detail at home?

Reason I ask is I've researched and most suggest boiling water which isn't a viable option when I'm out at CR shooting, unlike the guys who have the comfort of shooting in their backyard. Also seen windex as a suggestion, thanks.

You can leave it untill you get home and clean it, just do it the same day.

Everybody has their own voodoo as far as "nuetralizing" the salts goes. Who gives a crap about killing them, they can be "alive" and active all they want, just as long as they arent on my gun! Wipe em away with whatever and be done.

Heres me secret...

I clean as normal, at my liesure, when I get home! I clean thoroughly and in a somewhat timely matter but THATS IT! Sometimes I use warm water and a brush in the sink just because its easier for some guns/gas systems (AK) but for my mosin, tokarev, K98 I just clean as normal. They have sat in an average humidity environment for years after being cleaned like that with not a speck of corrosion.

Bolt guns are especially easy. Just clean the barrel and bolt face (and inside the bolt if you pierce a primer). With an auto you must clean everything the gas comes in contact with.

Actually always wanted to ask - should I try to clean the magazine in Mosin or K98 every time? Does the corrosive stuff get in contact with the the magazines, followers etc.?

Another question - how do you clean the chamber? I spray it with one of the action cleaner sprays and follow with the usual routine while cleaning the bore, but not always sure if I cleaned it enough.

Thanks!

You can leave it untill you get home and clean it, just do it the same day.

This is what I do also.