cycleron

looking for advice on first gun purchase

Hello all,

I am new to the fourm and to gun ownership. I have shot only a colt 45 and a few shotguns.

I am looking to purchase a gun for HD and maybe to carry when I travel out of state. I Would bring it to the range maybe every couple of months. I love the look of the revolvers so i am thinking about going that route. The 3 that are most apealing to my eyes and seem like they will hold there value.

The Ruger 1752 GP100 Wiley Clapp

The s&w 357 mod 60 pro series

The Taurus 651 Protector Stainless 5 Round 357

Any advice is most welcomed.

Thanks

Ron

South jersey

May be worth some research on the pros/cons of revolvers v semi-autos if you home defense and carry are priorities. There will be people who recommend either/or with passion, however depending on the types of scenarios you are envisaging you may find one or other is preferable.

I've seen people struggle with revolvers on Simunitions classes due to lack of capacity and time to reload, then again I've also seen people struggle with semi-autos due to 'complexity'. I can't help much more than that as I am not a revolver person.

On the NRA Basic Pistol course I went to they covered the pros/cons of each and we shot both which was a useful introduction. There are also a few ranges where you can go and rent both as well. GunForHire also do Simunitions training with both revolvers and semi-autos which can be interesting!

I'm sure the pro-revolver forum members will be posting soon enough with guidance.

Welcome to NJGunForum, safe shooting!

TheWombat

I also took the NRA Basic Pistol Course (did mine with the Heritage guys out in Easton) and if you're DEFINITELY going to get a pistol then I'd say it's a worthwhile investment of your time and money before OR after your purchase. I'd say the three biggest benefits I got out of the course were: