OchoBlue

PMAG (GEN M3) won't insert with breech closed (M&P 15 Sport)

Should an MP 15 sport accept a PMAG without first pulling back the charging handle ? I took my new MP 15 Sport to the range for the first time today (I'm new to the AR15 platform) and could insert the stock magazine no problem with the breech open or closed . The PMAG required that the breech be open / charged to accept the magazine.

Thanks!

Are these pmags blocked to 15 rounds? If they are, it may be due to how they are blocked. I bought a couple from bullseye tactical supply and they load fine with 15 rounds on a closed bolt. My buddy ordered some online (can't remember the site right now) and they do not load on a closed bolt.

Are these pmags blocked to 15 rounds? If they are, it may be due to how they are blocked. I bought a couple from bullseye tactical supply and they load fine with 15 rounds on a closed bolt. My buddy ordered some online (can't remember the site right now) and they do not load on a closed bolt.

Yes they are blocked ...

Never used those. So I wouldn't be able to comment on it. My buddy bought his from mtnarmory.com and those will not load on a closed bolt. Again I'm sure it's because of how they are blocked. Did you try loading 14 rounds in the mag and then see if the mag loads on a closed bolt?

Never used those. So I wouldn't be able to comment on it. My buddy bought his from mtnarmory.com and those will not load on a closed bolt. Again I'm sure it's because of how they are blocked. Did you try loading 14 rounds in the mag and then see if the mag loads on a closed bolt?

Works through loading 9. At 10 no go. That was an interesting test ... Go figure ?