medved11

Double Feed Issue - Issue Caused by Paint Interior?

I was at the range yesterday with a friend who brought a new 5.56 AR with him (I forgot the make/model).

Anyhow, he kept having repeated issues with double feed and even one triple feed jams (which required mortaring the gun and a dis-assembly to clear).

I'm not an AR expert, but I'm thinking that the problem may the result of the interior of the upper receiver having been painted when it was Cerakoted (that extra .001 inch of paint causing friction/drag). Does this seem plausible?

The problem seemed to be temporarily resolved when the BCG was coated in CLP; however, after a few rounds, the feeding issues would start again Is there anything else that he should look at inside of the upper or the BCG in terms of what might be causing this issue? 

It was a mix, which was a weird thing to me.

There would be a double feed of a live round behind a spent round which was cleared, followed by a double feed of two live rounds. The triple feed was a spent round with two live rounds jammed. To clear that one, I have to mortar the gun to get the bolt to spit out the spent brass - I then had to push down on the upper and pull the rear pin to relieve enough pressure to drop the magazine and clear the two live rounds

I hope that makes sense.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

He only had the Hex mags. I was shooting a .308, so I couldn't give him one of mine to try.

It was a really weird thing. I've never seen a rifle have so many consistent jams.

Maybe an issue with ammo? I know that he had one round that seemed like the bullet was not properly crimped into the case. I discounted it at the time because I thought that it may have been the result of the misfeed

HE is mostly right. One spent sitting nicely on the bolt face would be an ejector issue. Partially extracted would be extractor. 0.001" is the thickness of properly applied cerakote. Who knows what's on there.